Self Care

Self care is defined in so many ways by different bloggers and people in their own terms, but I will simplify self care as an act of kindness towards oneself. In other words self care can be simply stated as an act of maintaining one’s state of health without the help of other individuals or organization.

Growing up, I found it difficult to take care of myself, I unknowingly hated my self, this is due to my inability to take care of myself. I took my health for granted, if i were sick i never cared get drugs, I managed my health, kept it to myself and lived my life trying to manage my money and not spend it unnecessarily on drugs or visited the clinic or hospital like I thought, all these continued until i met a lady, she was a fellow colleague at my place of work, she noticed my nonchalant attitude towards my health and called me to order, she taught me about self care and have me reasons why I should care for my health, she made me realize that spending money to better my health is worth it, she said if I don’t care for myself, I can’t care for others properly. I changed and started taking very good care of myself, I didn’t care if I emptied my account, take a leave from work and spend on food just to take good care of myself.

Self care is grouped into:

1. Physical Self care: as the name entails, it’s process of taking good care of your body and environment, thereby looking out for it with caution and observance, making sure it’s in good state.

2. Emotional self care: it’s the process of looking out for one’s own feelings, if you’re not happy where you are, show your self kindness (self care) by leaving. If you’re not happy being with a particular person, show yourself kindness (or self care) by leaving that person. Your emotional well being is worth taking care of, don’t take it for granted.

3. Spiritual Self Care: it’s the process of looking out for one’s own spiritual health, all of these act of caring for one’s self are important, but taking care of your spiritual well being is most important because the spiritual controls the physical. You care for your spiritual well being by having a good relationship with God who’s the supreme of all spirits, He gives you grace and gift you with His personal protection and ability to perceive it when we’re unhealthy spiritually, we maintain our relationship with Him by constant communication (through prayer and study of the word). A person who takes good care of his spiritual well being as well takes good care of his physical well being. Don’t neglect either, take care of yourself because none will be willing to do so properly like you would.

I hope you enjoyed this little piece, please don’t forget to like, share, comment and follow to get more inspirational messages. God bless you..

2 thoughts on “Self Care

Leave a comment